## FACULTY AGENDA ITEM NO 16-3

### Date: 10 November 2015

## Submitted by: Dr. Nancy Tate, AVPAA, ext. 2546

SUBJECT: Change Faculty Handbook - Modification of Assessment Committee Membership Tenure

Rationale: To guarantee long-term assessment expertise on the Assessment Committee and to allow Washburn University to invest in development activities for current and future committee members, the VPAA is recommending changing the committee membership terms from 2 years to 3 years. This proposed change will provide the ability to maintain consistent membership of dedicated faculty members to move the University forward in dealing with the increasingly important program and general education assessment issues facing all postsecondary institutions. Committee composition would not change significantly; although it would be reduced to one Library/Student Success representative and expanded to include Washburn Tech and the School of Law as well as the assessment coordinator. Membership would continue to reflect the current representation of the academic units.

### Description:

### Current Faculty Handbook Wording (Section One, VII.D.1.)

Members include one faculty member each from the Schools of Business and Nursing, two faculty members from the School of Applied Studies, one faculty member from each of the five divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences, one library faculty member, the Assistant Dean of Student Success and Retention, one Student Affairs staff member, and the president of the Washburn Student Association, or designee, as voting members and the Vice President for Academic Affairs, and the Executive Director of Planning, or their designees, as non-voting exofficio members.

Faculty members (including the library faculty member) are elected by their academic units for staggered two-year terms. The Academic Advising and Student Affairs staff members are chosen by the VPAA in consultation with the Assistant Dean of Student Success and Retention and the Chief Student Affairs Officer.

The chair shall be elected from the elected faculty members of the committee by the voting members of the committee. A secretary shall be elected. Minutes shall be kept of all meetings and submitted to the secretary of the Faculty Senate for circulation to the Faculty Senate and through the Faculty Senate circulation list.

# Proposed Wording:

Members include one faculty member each from the Schools of Business, and Nursing, and Law, two faculty members from the School of Applied Studies, one faculty member from each of the five divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences, one representative from Washburn Institute of Technology, one library faculty member, the Assistant Associate Dean of

University Libraries and Student Success or designee, one Student Affairs Life staff member, and the president of the Washburn Student Government Association or designee, as voting members and the faculty assessment coordinator, the Vice President for Academic Affairs, the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning, and the Executive-Director of Planning Strategic Analysis and Reporting or their designees, as non-voting ex-officio members.

Faculty members (including the library faculty member) are elected by their academic units for staggered two-three-year terms with a limit of two consecutive terms (six years). The Academic Advising and Student Affairs staff members are chosen by the VPAA in consultation with the Assistant Dean of Student Success and Retention and the Chief Student Affairs Officer. This term limit can be waived by majority vote of the constituent unit. The Student Success and Student Life staff members are appointed by the VPAA in consultation with the Dean of University Libraries and the Vice President for Student Life respectively. Because this committee is critical to the continued accreditation of the University, strong commitment by committee members is required. Should a member fail to uphold the required responsibilities to the constituency.

The chair shall be elected from the elected faculty members of the committee by the voting members of the committee. The committee will be chaired by the faculty assessment coordinator. Minutes shall be kept of all meetings and submitted to the secretary of the Faculty Senate for circulation to the Faculty Senate and through the Faculty Senate circulation list.

Financial Implications: None

Proposed Effective Date: Fall 2016

Request for Action: Approval by FAC/FS/ Gen Fac/BOR

Approved by: AAC on date

FAC on November 17, 2015

Faculty Senate on December 7, 2015

Attachments Yes 🗌 No 🔲